Tuesday, August 28, 2007


Nelsinho e Sua Orquestra - Explosivo London LLB-1060 (1970)

An ultra-hip and incendiary big band bossa and samba blast courtesy Maestro and trombonista Nelsinho with suitably exploded cover art!

Lots of groovy uptempo and well selected tracks makes this a very solid listen. Dance orientated beats with punchy horns and slick rhythm guitar in the mix, punctuated by vocals on some tracks. Light the fuse, stand well back and enjoy...

1) Fumace
2) Essa Moça Tá Diferente
3) Coqueiro Verde
4) Samba Sem Viola
5) Um Samba Só Não Dá
6) Pigmalião
7) Fotograma
8) Aqui É O País Do Futebol
9) Se Voce Quiser Mas Sem Bronquear
10) Morte Do Amor
11) Comunicação
12) Vou Deitar E Rolar

Wednesday, August 01, 2007

Melvyn Price

Melvyn Price - Rhythm and Blues Mel-Dor PR-1003 Sweden (1974)

"Melvyn Price? Sounds familiar but I can't quite place him". Not surprising really as Detroit born Price is virtually unknown outside of Sweden where he made his home in the late sixties.

His debut LP release in 1970 entitled "Jazzbalettrytmer" or Jazz Ballet Rhythms was pressed on his own private label "Price" after requests from Jazz Ballet students. However this album, his third, a totally obscure Swedish only release is his finest effort. A percussive and funky jazz belter!

Joining Price on congos and bongos is an all Swedish rhythm section and includes Björn Alke & Guy Roellinger on bass, Björn Wolff on piano, Fredrik Norén & Gunnar Nyberg on drums, Ed Epstein on tenor sax and Jon Dill & Luis Agudo helping out on persussion. Melvyn Price can also be heard (obviously) on trombone.

I think you'll like this one, let me know what you think...

1) Voodoo Love Dance
2) Toward Brazil
3) Behind Kungsträdgården
4) Happiness Is...
5) Five O'Clock Traffic
6) Last Train

Now available at Wax Poetics Digital