Tuesday, May 30, 2006

Edgar e Os Tais

Edgar e Os Tais - Cantárida RGE XRLP-5.350 (1970)

Great jazzy vocal bossa led and arranged by Edgar Gianullo and supremely groovy to boot!

Edgar Gianullo (vocal, guitar, bass); Toniquinho (drums); Vicente (bass, piano, organ, percussion); Neneco (vocal, percussion); Nelsinho (vocal, percussion, mouth tuba); Rosely (vocal); Sergio (organ, celeste, bass); Felpudo (trombone, trumpet); Vidal (tenor-sax, flute, piccolo)

1) Estou Dez Anos Atrasado
2) Queen Aparecida
3) Nao Deixo Voce Ir Embora
4) Dela
5) A Primeira Vez
6) Vou Me Pirulitar
7) Prólogo
8) Foi Tao Bacana
9) A Morena Lena
10) Quem Vem La (Vem Balancar)
11) Bambe-Lo
12) Alo-Helo

Monday, May 22, 2006

Fly Cruzeiro

Aquarius Producoes Artisticas - Brazil By Music 'Fly Cruzeiro' (1972)

Here's an absurdly rare promotional record for Brasil's Cruzeiro Airlines on their own label. Mellow yet groovy jazz fusion courtesy Marcos Valle and an early Azimuth incarnation.

1) Jingle Cruzeiro
2) Esta Fazendo Um Ano - Aquarela Do Brasil
3) Zazueira - Mas Que Nada
4) Tristeza
5) Aqui E O Pais Do Futebol
6) Ate Pensei
7) Zanzibar
8) Nao Tem Solucao - Marina - ...Das Rosas
9) Samba De Verao
10) Prenda Minha
11) Asa Branca
12) Wave

Tuesday, May 09, 2006


Here's a personal compilation of ultra-hip vocalese-jazz recordings by Estonian group Collage culled from their impossible-to-find Russian Melodiya albums from the seventies. Legendary stuff this, impossible to adequately put into words and incomparable in form & delivery to anything I can immediately think of. Try Estonian Novi Singers & you'll have some idea!

This seven-piece consists of three female vocalists who sound like angels and four male musicians. Together they perform an incredible combination of jazzy, classical folk tunes and whilst many of the songs have an ethereal hymnal quality, they all come together to forge a timeless and irresistable groove!

Absolutely essential...

1) Mets Neidude Vahel
2) Halb Sirp
3) Petis Peiu
4) Kee, Pada
5) Neiud Lähevad Ära
6) Uni, Tule Silma Peale!
7) Memme Vaev
8) Ehted Kadunud
9) Kodukingu Kuusik
10) Neiut Pole Kodus
11) Vastlalaul
12) Oh, Seda Õnnista Eluga
13) Bossanova Hing
14) Üheskoos

(Translations available on request)

Also, until further notice all download links will be within the comments for each individual post.

Rodolfo Alchourron

Rodolfo Alchourron - Sanata Y Clarificación Vol. 2 Prodisa 47005 (Arg) (1974)

Rodolfo Alchourron - composer, arranger, director and guitarist has built an enviable reputation in many areas including television, cinema and theatre as well as many sought after studio and concert recordings.

After having received notoriety with 'classic' compositional prizes he turned toward more popular music styles and attracted by the jazz he learned as an adolescent was instrumental in the formation of diverse trios & big bands in the sixties.

Between 1970 and 1974 his "Sanata Y Clarificación" emerged as the evolution of jazz-rock began to take hold. As a result of frequent incursions into his own tango and folk roots, and the increasing interest in those forms, Alchourron began replacing the wind instruments in his group with bandoneón and built a repertoire that was strongly influenced by elements of Argentine music.

In New York between 1978 and 1989, with "Southern Exposure", he composed numerous songs and instrumental pieces, combining in all of them elements of jazz and South American music.

This superb and collectible LP boasts many of his leading contemporaries including Ruben Barbieri, Bernardo Baraj, Chachi Ferreyra, Mario Tenreyro, Adalberto Cevasco, Osvaldo Lopez, Gustavo Beitelman, Raul Parentella and not forgetting Argentinean legend Litto Nebbia.

Jazzy, groovy, sinewy funky fusion grooves combine to create another lost classic, one that I humbly attempt to resurrect for you here.

1) Algunos Dias, Algunas Noches
2) No Se, No Se, Preguntare Para Saber
3) Vals Turnco
4) Esas Dos Cosas Benditas
5) Casi Un Tango
6) Cuzco Sucio y Molesto, Largo De Aqui
7) Vals En La Muy Sostenido


NB. Please ammend the running order of the titles in the zip file - I mistakenly numbered them in alpha order when they should read as above.