Tuesday, January 13, 2009

Chicken Feathers

Monica Zetterlund - Chicken Feathers Sveriges Radio SR-1151 (1972)

OK so we all loved the last Steve Kuhn album - a hard act to follow. So let's stick with the majesty of Steve Kuhn and an LP that matches the previous post in quality with a groove quotient off the scale!

Swedish songstress Monica Zetterlund and her finest hour in my opinion. All tracks written and arranged by Kuhn on a Swedish only release featuring a veritable who's who of Swedish jazzers.

Arne Domnérus - Clarinet, Sax (Alto); Lennart Åberg - Flute, Sax (Tenor); Claes Rosendahl - Flute, Sax (Tenor); Erik Nilsson - Clarinet (Bass), Sax (Baritone); Jan Allan - Trumpet; Bosse Broberg - Trumpet; Bertil Lövgren - Trumpet; Sven Larsson - Trombone (Bass); Hakan Nyqvist - French Horn; Rune Gustafsson - Guitar; Bengt Hallberg - Piano; George Riedel - Bass; Alex Riel - Drums.

Easily one of my favorites and soon to be one of yours I have no doubt.

1) Chicken Run
2) The Baby
3) The Saga Of Harrison Crabfeathers
4) Raindrops Raindrops
5) Silver
6) Till Monica
7) The Thoughts Of A Gentleman
8) The Real Guitarist In The House
9) Pearlie's Swine
10) Ulla
11) Till Steve